The EuroPrivacy certification scheme is overseen and regularly updated by an international board of experts encompassing data protection law, cybersecurity, certification, as well as end-user representatives. The members have been chosen for their expertise and serve on the Board in their personal capacity. 


  • Luca Bolognini, President of the Istituto Italiano per la Privacy
  • Dr Sébastien Ziegler, President of the International Internet of Things Forum


  • Pasquale Annicchino, European University
  • Heather Anson, Digital Law UK 
  • Martin Brynskov, Chair of OASC and University of Aarhus
  • Nicolas Capt, Capt & Wyss
  • Andrew Charlesworth, University of Bristol
  • Daniel Cooper, Covington & Burling LLP
  • Thomas Facklam, German Accreditation Body, Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle GmbH (DAkkS)
  • Afonso Ferreira, CNRS, IRIT
  • Brian Honan, BH Consulting
  • Laurent Horvath, DPO City of Carouge
  • Romeo Kadir, Utrecht University
  • Latif Ladid, University of Luxembourg, IPv6 Forum President
  • Elise Latify, Privacy 7 and former CNIL
  • Mythili Menon, Mandat International and former ITU
  • Renato Opice Blum, Opice Blum
  • Ana Maria Pacheco, Archimede Solutions
  • Adrian Quesada Rodriguez, Mandat International
  • Fredrik Roos, Setterwalls
  • Bernd Schmidt, Plan It Legal
  • Lucio Scudiero, Lex Digital
  • Arianna Sekeri, Greek lawyer in data protection
  • Geert Somers, Time Lex
  • Jean-Philippe Walter, Council of Europe
  • Peter Wright, Digital Law UK

The Board composition will be progressively extended to cover the various geographic regions and areas of expertise. The mission of the Board is to revise and update the certification scheme by following a continuous improvement approach. It alternates face-to-face meetings with eMeetings and follow the consensus principles used in standard development organizations such as ISO and the ITU.